A Mother’s Wish

Being in an intercultural relationship is not easy. If you can imagine what the adjustments a couple from the same country has, make that double! Maybe I am exaggerating but with me and Janary that has been the case. All in all, we thank God who has given us the grace to keep our love alive for almost 4 years.

One of the things an intercultural couple has to consider is the location for the wedding. After much talk we decided to have it here in the Philippines, for it is more affordable for both of us than going to Colombia or having it in another country. Nevertheless, it has been a challenge for our families because Janary’s parents moved to the United States just last year and my parents are, of course, in Colombia. At first, Janary and I were willing to have the wedding just with our friends here at the seminary and without our parents, but then we decided to face the challenge; and a part of that challenge is what I want to share with you today. With God’s grace and after a lot of prayer, Janary’s parents gathered the money to be able to come to the Philippines. It was something that seemed impossible for them but God showed them that nothing is impossible for him. I am glad that they can be with us to celebrate this event and to be with their daughter in this special occasion.

Image
This is my mother, a woman of faith.

Now, we only have 12 weeks left before the wedding and I have been having serious talks with my mom about her desire to be with us on this day. My heart breaks when I see her cry because I have to tell her that I do not have the money to bring her, and in spite of my firm answer every time we talk she says she wants to come and God will make a way for her. Contrary to what one would think, a trip from Colombia to the Philippines is much more expensive than from the States. Since not many people travel from Latin-America to Asia, the demand is low and the prices are high. Moreover, the cheapest flights always go through North-America and Colombian citizens cannot take them unless they have an American visa. As a result of this, a round-trip from Colombia to the Philippines costs almost 3000USD. My mind tells me that it is just impossible to get that money, particularly when I recall my experience of having to work and save for almost 3 years before coming here.

Still, this is where my faith is tested right now. My mom has never left her country and yet in our last talk she told me she will get her passport this week for she believes in God. She also told me that since I am her only son, she cannot miss a special day like this. She is giving me a lesson on faith.  I want you to please take some time and lift a prayer to God for this situation and I also want to invite you to help me make her dream come true. I want to start a fund-raising project and, although I know I need this money, I am giving the only 300USD on my savings account to do so. I am also committing to work and give any extra income in the coming weeks for this sake. I hope God touches your heart and no matter what the amount of your contribution is, you could help me bring my mom and prove that God indeed is a God who provides.

If you would like to know more about this please talk with me by sending me an email at godoy.ander@gmail.com or leave your public message in the form below.

May the Lord bless you and grant you good day!

UPDATE AUG 14: We have received a transfer for 50USD from a woman  in the Philippines who prefers to remain anonymous.
Total 350 USD (11.7% Completed) (88.3% to go)

UPDATE AUG 15: We have received a transfer for 100USD from a person in Australia who prefers to remain anonymous.
Total 450 USD  (15% Completed) (85% to go)

UPDATE AUG 15: We have received a transfer for 500USD from a person in the United States who has previously helped  with Ánderson’s studies.
Total 950 USD (31.7% Completed) (78.3% to go)

UPDATE AUG 16: We have received a promise for 200USD from a couple in an island of the Pacific Ocean. They have helped Janary with her mission trip last year.
Total 1,150 USD (38.3% Completed) (61.7% to go)

UPDATE AUG 18: We have received a transfer for 100USD from a couple in Japan, they have also helped Janary with her mission trip last year.
Total 1,250 USD (41.7% Completed) (68.3% to go)

UPDATE AUG 20: We have received a copy of  the very first passport of Anderson’s mom. We are inspired for this is truly an act of faith! Please help us in prayer and, if God moves you so, through your contributions (Only 68.3% to go).

El-pasaporte-de-mamá-[for-web]

UPDATE AUG 20: We have just received an unexpected transfer from “Mustard Seed Ministries” by 100USD!
Total 1,350 USD  (45% Completed) (Only 55% to go) Praise God! 😀

UPDATE AUG 20: We have received a donation by 20USD from a man in the Philippines who prefers to remain anonymous!
Total 1,370 USD (45.7% Completed) (Only 54.3% to go).

UPDATE AUG 27: We have received a transfer by 50USD from a good friend of ours and her husband in the United States whose faith and marriage have been an inspiration to us.
Total 1,420 USD (47% Completed) (Only 53% to go)

UPDATE AUG 27: After praying about it, my mom and I have decided that she will try to apply for a transit visa in the U.S. the difference of cost for the airfare if she gets the visa is significant, so we think that is worth to give it a try. The cost is 160 dollars so, total: 1,260 USD (42% Completed) (Only 58% to go)

UPDATE SEP 4: WE HAVE JUST RECEIVED MY MOM’S PASSPORT WITH A US VISA AND FOR OUR SURPRISE AND THE GLORY OF THE LORD IT IS A TOURIST VISA AND NOT JUST THE TRANSIT VISA SHE APPLIED FOR! NOW THAT SHE IS ABLE TO TRAVEL THROUGH THE STATES THE COST GOES DOWN TO (AS OF TODAY IN KAYAK.COM) 2200USD DOLLARS!! THAT MEANS AT LEAST 800USD LESS THAN BEFORE; SO  WE HAVE A NEW TOTAL AND WE ARE NEARER TO THE GOAL: TOTAL 1,260 USD (57% COMPLETED) (ONLY 43% TO GO)

Visa-de-mamá-(con-censura)
How great is our God!! A few weeks ago my mom did not even have a passport, now she has a visa to the States. Thanks for your prayers!

UPDATE SEP 7: We have received an anonymous donation for 12 dollars. We really appreciate this person who understands that generosity makes no distinction. Thank you brother/sister!
Total 1,272 USD (57.8% Completed) (Only 42.2% to go)

UPDATE SEP 8: We have been invited to share our testimonies of how God has been working in our lives through Skype to a congregation in Auburn First Church of the Nazarene, Auburn NY. We are filled with love as they have generously given to us an offering of US$440 to help us bring Anderson’s mom here. We thank you all for the opportunity you have given us to share our life stories and to be blessed by you in return.
Total  1,712 USD (77.82% Completed) (22.18% to go)

UPDATE SEP 25: We have received a donation  for 40USD from Shawn del Hansen in the United States. Thank you so much Shawn! Total 1752 USD (79.66% Completed) (20.44% to go)

UPDATE SEP 28: We have received a donation for 150USD from two of our friends in Singapore. Thank you so much, we pray for blessings to your life! Total 1902 USD (86.45% Completed) (13.55% to go).

UPDATE  SEP 30: We have realized that since my mom has a tourist visa we can try to buy her ticket with two different airlines (One from Colombia to the U.S. and one from the U.S. to the Philippines). This also gives her the chance to spend some time with Janary’s parents in Seattle and potentially lowers the cost! We will keep you updated once we finalize the purchase. Thank you so much for everyone who has donated till now. God bless you!

FINAL UPDATE OCT 6: We have received mom’s e-ticket and everything is set for her departure on October 18. She will go first to Seattle and spend a few days with Janary’s parents before joining them to come to the Philippines on October 23. We really want to thank all of you for your generosity and for making this dream come true. I just do not know how this could have been possible without your prayers and generous donations. Please keep in touch as we update our blog with more of the exciting things going on in our lives in the weeks to come. We love you all!

Praise the Lord. We are so very thankful for all the people who are praying and supporting us. This is overwhelming and now more than ever we believe God  makes a way through his people and fulfills his purposes! Thank you for being sensitive to the Spirit’s guidance 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Janary says:

    Reblogged this on BENEATH… and commented:
    This is my fiance’s post on our NEW BLOG. I am glad we finally started our own blog for our journey together as a couple. Scroll down to see former posts, and feel free to subscribe by entering your email at the bottom of the page.

  2. Ánderson says:

    Reblogged this on Human After All and commented:
    I am about to get married and as part of the process my fiancée and I started a new blog. I will keep updating this one too, but please check this very important post and help me spread the news. Thank you all 😀

Leave a Reply

